This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

False advertising and incompetent service

Explore video interviews
I contacted MrRooter of Vancouver Island to do a trenchless water line replacement. They gave me a quote of $6,000. The result? They were unable to pull more than a foot of line, but still gave me an invoice of $15,000. My wife and I were responsible for digging the 90 foot trench. As we are both seniors, it ruined our entire summer. It seems like MrRooter makes more money by being incompetent than doing the promised work.

User's recommendation: Stay away from MrRooter.

View full review
Featured
ID
#2989866 Review #2989866 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Nanaimo, British Columbia
Cons
  • Being charged for nothing
  • Could not complete contract
Loss
$9000
Preferred solution
Price reduction
New Reviewer

EXCESSIVE FEE CHARGED

called 10-14-2021 for sewer blockage (minor ) water draining slow . tech would be there at 10-15-2021 at approximately 3.30 pm . Tech arrived at 3.30 pm left by 5.00 pm . easy access to 4 in clean out approximately 6 feet in from foundation . opened it i supplied buckets to catch backed up water . tech used power snake and reported to me he was about 30 to 40 feet out . using a tablet to take photos . he retriever some pieces of handy wipes . ran water problem solved . closed clean out then proceeded to take inventory of heating, water heaters and there age .number o of bath rooms . all this information has no bearing on my plumbing problem. total charge for one and a half hours work a whopping $628.25 I WILL NOT USE NOR RECOMEND THIS COMPANY .

User's recommendation: GET ESTIMATE FIRST.

View full review
ID
#3006148 Review #3006148 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Middleborough, Massachusetts
Service
Mr Rooter Plumbing Service
Loss
$400
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
My experience with Mr. Rooter is NOT very favorable. We thought we would give them a chance to prove themselves. First: My wife called and was informed there would be a $75 fee just to show up. She was then informed they wanted the payment upfront and charged to a...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2793115 Review #2793115 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Toms River, New Jersey

Price Gouge.

When you first contact them, they charge you $49.95 on a credit card for a service call. They arrive at your house and quote a price of $400.00 for a simple clogged kitchen sink. You decline and they're on their way keeping your $49.95. It's nothing more than a planned scam. Most people realize that the job is way overpriced, but Mr. Rooter is satisfied keeping your $49.95 for a service call and they're off to their next victim. Stay away satisfied

User's recommendation: Use this company at your own risk.

View full review
ID
#2723240 Review #2723240 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bridgewater, Massachusetts

Company speaks nicely to you on the phone to get your business. Then lady that handles problems over talk you.

Overcharge you for water jetting the pipes. They charged me 6700 dollars and then told me it would be 1200 more for water jetting and then used my water to over jet. I looked at the reviews, and they were horrible, so I asked them about their reviews, giving them a chance. They said that's not them all Mr. rooters were not the same. I had a problem with pricing, They would not let me talk to a district manager and when I called the village inspection on them, that's when they charge me for water jetting. I'm in healthcare, and is this how you treat people and take advantage of people. The world is already going through a transition, people dying.

User's recommendation: Be careful with using Mr. Rooter they over price and make sure you have a state inspector there.

View full review
ID
#2607055 Review #2607055 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bellwood, Illinois
New Reviewer

To keep others from trying to get help from Mr Rooter!

Had Mr Rooted try to clear my kitchen line, when they claimed I had dirt in the line, and they said it meant the pipes were broken and needed to be replaced. I asked what that would cost, and was told it would be close to $10,000! Later, called a plumber recommended by a friend. He was able to completely clear the line and charged me way less then just Mr Roger's first visit! They are complete rip off and warn seniors!N them!NN especially, to never call them!

User's recommendation: Never call this company for service!

View full review
ID
#2594165 Review #2594165 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tucson, Arizona
Loss
$200
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Work Unreliable

They installed a garbage disposal unit improperly. The dishwasher flooded as a result of their work. Mr. Rooter took no responsibility for their work.

User's recommendation: Be careful of their work. They are not reliable.

View full review
ID
#2435028 Review #2435028 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Roswell, Georgia
Loss
$85
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
Three service calls within a 6 month period (June-December 2019), resulting in the replacement of some cast iron pipes with PVC. Charges to credit cards of $900, $700, and $800 (plus service costs and taxes that totaled over $2,400). Sections of the replaced pipe...
View full review
View full review
ID
#1838129 Review #1838129 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Mr Rooter Plumbing Service
Pros
  • Were punctual
Cons
  • Poor quality of work and cost
Loss
$2
Preferred solution
Full refund

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
Junior Reviewer

Resolved: Overcharged and Get Runaround on Promised Credit

Update by user Mar 23, 2020

Big thanks to Pissed Customer site! They were planning a video interview to highlight my complaint.

However, I do have an update as of March 23, 2020: In the last few days the merchant FINALLY posted a credit to my account in the correct amount. This was after my bad review on the PISSED CUSTOMER site and after over a month of trying to resolve. After repeated attempts to resolve including escalation to merchant management and after filing a dispute with the credit card company, the merchant finally made this right . It took a lot of persistence and aggravation for me and my husband before this was corrected.

Merchant is either very incompetent or fraudulent. Ginny B

Original review posted by user Mar 13, 2020
We have used Mr Rooter for a number of years. Most recently within a few weeks they did two major and expensive jobs for us. On the second job the estimate was over $5000. They gave the estimate on Thursday and scheduled the work for the following Monday. They also took my credit card info prior to the work. On the day of the job there were some discussions on the scope of what they would do and because of some scope changes, the cost dropped by about $500 (not exact). The technician updated our invoice and said he would let the home office know of the change. To my surprise, when I got the credit card bill, the higher amount was charged with no credit. I called Mr Rooter office over three times over as many weeks and was always told that the accounting department would call back -- they never did. My husband called last week and escalated this issue to management and we scanned and sent the corrected bill. We were promised a refund. Now a week later still no refund I am really tired of being ripped off and getting the runaround. I plan to contest the charges with my credit card company since Mr Rooter still has not made good on the promised credit.

User's recommendation: We will never use these folks again.

View full review
Resolved
ID
#1822527 Review #1822527 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Mr Rooter Customer Care
Loss
$565
Preferred solution
We want the credit quoted by Scott and the promised credit put on our credit card that was over charged
New Reviewer

They don't even deserve one star most ridiculous and rip off company I ever deal with

they don't even deserve one star most ridiculous and rip off company I ever deal with ,I called in and asked for someone with camera can look in 2" pipe .and cindy (receptionist) told me she will send technician for free estimate .I told her we did sneak and its not working I need price for someone with camera to see whats going on,she said np we will send a technician for free estimate.next day technician showup and keep telling me he wants to do sneak to see whats going on and I told him its not going to work we need camera . he convince me he will get it open he knows whats his doing other companies did it wrong. after 10 min from roof he telling me he can only go in 10ft and then he tells me his camera its not going to fit the pipe lol (why did he come then )total waste of time and money yes money he charge me $160 for showing up and trying to do sneak when I told him 100 times its not going to work...stay way from mr rooter we will report them for business bureau and there facebook and online all over …..and then his telling me it will cost $3200 for running new 12' to outside wall.I got few other companies told me $400-750 max ...
View full review
ID
#1525570 Review #1525570 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Quality of work
  • Terrible customer service
  • Being charged for nothing
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Resolved: $700 in labor and still no hot water

Mr Rooter - $700 in labor and still no hot water
Update by user Sep 03, 2018

The owner of Mr. Rooter has contacted us and we've been able to reach a mutually agreeable resolution.

We appreciate their efforts in contacting us to address the problem and would recommend their services moving forward. Thank you!

Original review posted by user Aug 21, 2018
We had no hot water on Monday, we contacted Mr. Rooter and they sent a Tech out who diagnosed the issue and charged us $100.50. The Tech said it was the elements. Our Tank had been replaced 5.5 years prior and was still under warranty. Two days later, the same Tech replaced the elements and charged us $384.21. Two hours later we still didn’t have hot water. We called them and he came out a day later. While there, he tried testing the power to the tank but did not switch the breaker off which made it arc, causing a huge cloud of black smoke and melted the metal water line on the tank. He said that it was his fault and he would replace the metal line he burned and that the tank needed to be replaced. We went into our garage the next day to find the metal line he burned had leaked all over the floor. The tank came in the next day and they charged us an additional $214.77 (no charge for the tank since it was still under warranty). After a week of cold showers for our 6 year old daughter, we were desperate to have hot water (to be honest we just didn't know what else to do so we agreed to the cost) and told them to go ahead and install it. Two hours after the Tech had installed the tank and left, we still didn’t have hot water. We called them back (exasperated and asking for a refund) and they then told us it was probably an electrical issue, so we needed to call an Electrician. The Electrician came out and said that the breaker was not giving any power and that this could have been caused by the Tech arcing the wires on the tank before it was replaced. He replaced the breaker. Now we have an Electricians bill on top of the $700 we paid them. We have asked for a refund because not only did their employee misdiagnose it but, he also likely caused our issue.
View full review
Resolved
ID
#1335430 Review #1335430 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Williamsburg, Virginia
Service
Mr Rooter Water Heater Repair
Cons
  • Being charged for nothing
Reason of review
Bad diagnostic lead to costly repair
Loss
$700
New Reviewer

I don't know what is wrong!

2 service visits to fix the source of the bad odor issue in my bathroom. The first visit lasted 10 minutes. The technician diagnosed a dry trap , ran water and my bleach down the drain, and said it was fixed. He charged me $171.00! The problem continued, and he returned. He was here about 5 minutes and said he didn't know what it was. I said that I would have to get another plumber, and he agreed!
View full review
ID
#1330206 Review #1330206 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Mr Rooter Plumbing Service

RUINED OUR LIVES

WE BOUGHT MR. ROOTER FRANCHISE AFTER BEING IN THE SEWER AND DRAIN BUSINESS FOR OVER 50 YEARS.We were looking to expand to build more for our children,we took extra loans against our home at their suggestions, felt we couldn't loss we know the business. EVERYTHING THEY SAID WAS A LIE. We now as senior citizens are close to losing our home, we lost our 780 credit score thanks to them , all of our insurance dividends went to them, including an inheritance from our mother. If they ever approach you run as fast and as far as you can, everything out of their mouth is a lie. They only want to UPSELL, UPSELL, UPSELL. We spent hundreds of thousands of dollars trying to work their way and it cost us 50 years of hard work,, we never ever filed bankruptcy until we bought Mr. Rooter. Don;t ever call them for anything.
View full review
ID
#1326330 Review #1326330 is a subjective opinion of poster.
I called Mr. Rooter to have them move a piece of a gas line that was coming out of the floor and merely move it about 6 inches so that it comes out of the wall vice the floor. The Mr. Rooter serviceman showed up and instantly was aloof with me and and wreaked of...
View full review
View full review
1 comment
#1469062

thx

ID
#1219539 Review #1219539 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Mr Rooter Repair
Reason of review
Pricing issue

Worst plumber in creation

DO NOT USE-THEY TOOK ADVANTAGE OF MY ELDERLY MOTHER. THEY CHARGED HER $485 for taking off the toilet and removing some toilet tissue. As per our contractor he said they are crooks-they took advantage of a 91 year old lady. They said she need an additional amount of work to her toilet about $900. They were going to rebuild her toilet. a new toilet costs 100-200 dollars. They wanted to flush her system-as per our contractor she did not need same. The plumber was not competent. do not use them unless you have a lot of money to loose.they are truly crooks. Take advantage of the elderly
View full review
1 comment
#1347288

Thank you for taking the time to make this review. We appreciate your feedback and we are grateful you have made us aware of the situation.

We were hoping to discuss the situation with you however we have been unsuccessful with reaching you. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to rectify the situation that occurred to improve our service for future customers.

If it is possible, please contact us at your earliest convenience. We have been anxiously awaiting to talk with you. Your experience with Mr.

Rooter Plumbing could help support us in creating a better customer service experience for others. To contact us, please message us with your contact details.

With Sincere Apologies,

Mr Rooter Plumbing

ID
#1067361 Review #1067361 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Mr Rooter Plumbing Service
Cons
  • Incompetent technician
  • Quality of work
Reason of review
Bad quality
Loss
$485
Preferred solution
Price reduction

RIP OFF

We hired them to install a bathroom faucet and 2 filters for a faucet. The repair person is the owner of the Mr Rooter , He quoted a price of 249.00 I said ok. Ehen the repair person came he said it would be 383.00 with a 50.00 discount 383.00 total. I told him to call John. He did and told me that was what he said. So i told him to get out. We are in Florida. I called Southern plumbing in Vero beach, the whole job including 2 flappers was 86.00. RIP OFF. DO NOT USE
View full review
ID
#1060088 Review #1060088 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Mr Rooter Faucet Installation
Reason of review
Pricing issue

Brands Related to Mr Rooter

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article